DUI Rights Help in Vermont – Vermont DUI Laws
Burlington, Brattleboro, Rutland City, and all other cities and towns in the state of Vermont have the same laws when it comes to drinking and driving. This charge is very serious and carries heavy penalties for those who are convicted including jail time, license suspension, and having to pay fines and penalties. With so much on the line, it is important for those who are charged with this crime to begin fighting their charges right away. Using DUIRights.com can help these individuals begin building their case.
First Time Offense Penalties in the State of Vermont
The penalties for DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in the state of Vermont are very serious even for first time offenders. Having to deal with these penalties can have many repercussions for an individual’s life, including their personal, professional, and financial well-being. Those who are found with blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher will face the following penalties for their first offense:
- Jail Time of Up to 2 Years
- Fines and Penalties of Up to $750
- License Suspension of 90 Days
Why DUI Rights Will be Important for Your Case
When someone is charged with DUI, it is important to seek the legal help of a knowledgeable, practiced DUI attorney who is well versed in Vermont’s drinking and driving laws. Vermont does allow those charged with DUI to arrange a plea bargain for a lesser charge, such as “wet reckless,” but they will often need to help pf a legal professional in order to accomplish this. A good DUI attorney will evaluate the case and identify if any of their client’s rights were violated during the course of the arrest.
Having a rights violation identified will be an important part of arranging a favorable plea bargain. In order to do this, the attorney will need to know the ins and outs of what occurred on the night of the arrest and charge – often, the attorney will ask some of the following questions and possibly more to get a full picture of what occurred during that time:
- Was the vehicle in operation?
- Did the officer witness the client driving the vehicle?
- Did the officer give a valid reason for making the traffic stop?
- Did the officer administer any field sobriety testing?
- Did the officer administer a Breathalyzer test? How long after the client’s last drink was that test given?
- Did the officer read the client Miranda Rights? Did the client understand these rights?
Protect your rights and learn how to get your Vermont DUI charges dismissed. Get Started Now by filling out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form to get the answers you need.
You still have a chance to improve your situation once you learn the steps needed to eliminate your Vermont DUI charges. Vermont DUI penalties have become inflated calculations by the court system favored towards the courts themselves and attorneys specializing in this field. Over the past 14 years, DUIRights.com has helped thousands of people just like you. Good people with families, jobs, and friends. People who are now facing one of the worst days of their lives after being charged with DUI. We sincerely believe that people who make a mistake shouldn’t have to pay for it the rest of their lives.
No matter how guilty you may think you were at the time of the arrest, we want you to know one important thing: There is ALWAYS an aggressive and effective defense that will help you fight for the best possible outcome. In our experience, many officers do not follow proper field sobriety test procedures. In fact, challenging probable cause and the way field sobriety tests, blood tests and breath tests were administered is often a successful strategy to reduce or drop the charges. Also, many people plead guilty prematurely based on a breath test with a result above the legal limit. This is a common and costly mistake, as there are a variety of ways in having the breath test suppressed.
If you rely solely on a public defender to help you, your chances will be limited in preserving financial security and effectively winning your case. With our help, we will show you the easy to understand steps needed to get your Vermont DUI charges dismissed effectively and take back the control of your situation by being equipped with the real information and attorney you need to win your case.
DUI Laws in Vermont
While monetary fines for DUI in Vermont are about average, or even less than most states in the country, jail sentences and license suspensions can be severe, especially for repeat offenders. If you are arrested and charged with a DUI in this state, it is highly recommended that you consult with an attorney as soon as possible.
Consequences for Refusing to Take Chemical Tests
While first-time offenders are given some leeway in terms of sentencing, repeat offenders refusing to take chemical tests in Vermont are dealt with much more severely:
- First offense – 6-month suspension
- Second offense – 18-month suspension
- Third offense – lifetime suspension
Challenging BAC Levels in Court
Vermont uses standard blood alcohol content (BAC) for all other violations:
- Drivers that are under the age of 21, .02 percent
- Drivers 21 years of age and older, .08 percent
- Commercial Drivers, .04 percent
Is There Mandatory Jail Time Required for a DUI in Vermont?
In Vermont, DUI law dictates a maximum sentence for all violators:
- First offense – up to two years in prison
- Second offense – up to two years in prison
- Third offense – five year maximum sentence
Vermont does not currently offer a lookback forgiveness period for sentencing of a DUI conviction.
Monetary Fines and Penalties for DUI in Vermont
This is the one area of Vermont DUI law that is about average compared to other states. While the fines are still significant, the maximum fine is set with the minimum being left up to the judge:
- First offense – fines up to $750
- Second offense – fines up to $1,500
- Third offense – fines up to $2,500
License Suspension for DUI in Vermont
First and second time offenders will probably find the suspension terms reasonable, but third time DUI offenders risk losing their license permanently in Utah:
- First offense – 90-day license suspension
- Second offense – 18-month license suspension
- Third offense – lifetime license suspension
Vermont does not require the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) at this time.
Finding a DUI Lawyer in Vermont
With the possibility of spending up to two years in jail on the first offense and permanently losing your license on a third offense, being arrested and charged for DUI in Vermont is a very serious matter. A skilled attorney may be able to plead the case out to lesser charges or find fault with evidence processing to have the charges dismissed outright. To have your case evaluated free as well as finding local attorneys to help you with your case, visit fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form.
1 thought on “DUI Rights Help in Vermont – Vermont DUI Laws”
Where is the statute that addresses a person who has been found innocent of DUI by a jury, but refused the breath test? I have been told that the suspension is 6 months, rather than 3 months but I can’t find it. Can you provide the statute # to me? I also was wondering why the SR-22 and alcohol classes are still required even though a court of law has found the driver innocent of DUI. (VERMONT)