DUI Rights in Alabama – Get Help For Alabama DUI Charges

Alabama DUI charges can be reduced to a lesser charge or dismissed in court. Learn how with a Free Alabama DUI Arrest Evaluation.

What You Should Know About Your Alabama DUI Rights

For individuals who have been arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in Alabama, they are just beginning the fight to have their charges dismissed or reduced and trying to get their life back on track. DUI laws are different in all states, so it is important to know the Alabama DUI Laws as well as the rights you have during a DUI arrest.

What Penalties Will I Face in Alabama?

Since DUI laws are different for each state, the penalties offenders will face also vary. Additionally, depending on the number of previous offenses of DUI you have had, you could face much harsher punishments. Here are some examples of DUI penalties in the state of Alabama:

  • First Offense:
    • No Required Jail Time
    • Fines Between $600 and $2,100
    • 90 Day License Suspension
  • Second Offense:
    • 5 Days in Jail
    • Fines Between $1,100 and $5,100
    • 1 Year License Suspension
  • Third Offense
    • 60 Days in jail
    • Fines Between $2,100 and $10,000
    • 3 Year License Suspension

What are My Rights?

When it comes to fighting an Alabama DUI conviction, it is important to understand your rights in order for you and your attorney to form a strategy to take to court. Some of the questions you should ask yourself include:

  • Did the arresting officer have probable cause to incite a traffic stop?
  • Did the arresting officer have probable cause to detain or arrest you?
  • Were the arresting officer’s observations consistent with other eye witnesses?
  • Were you administered proper sobriety tests?

Additionally, individuals have the right to refuse taking a chemical Blood Alcohol Content test in the state of Alabama. Although they are allowed to refuse, there are consequences:

  • First Offense: 90 Day License Suspension
  • Second Offense: 1 Year License Suspension
  • Third Offense: 1 Year License Suspension

Should I Hire a Lawyer?

Regardless if you plan to plead guilty or not, individuals should always have their DUI case reviewed and evaluated by a DUI attorney. Doing this will help to determine the possible outcomes of the case and may even uncover some information that could have the case dismissed or the charges reduced to something less serious. The penalties for DUI will not only affect your immediate future but also your life for years to come – having an expert evaluation is crucial to lessening the impact of a DUI conviction.

Protect your rights and learn how to get your Alabama DUI charges dismissed. Get Started Now by Filling out the Free DUI Arrest form to get the answers you need.

Alabama DUI Defense

No matter how guilty you may think you were at the time of the arrest, we want you to know one important thing: There is ALWAYS an aggressive and effective defense that will help you fight for the best possible outcome. In our experience, many officers do not follow proper field sobriety test procedures. In fact, challenging probable cause and the way field sobriety tests, blood tests and breath tests were administered is often a successful strategy to reduce or drop the charges. Also, many people plead guilty prematurely based on a breath test with a result above the legal limit. This is a common and costly mistake, as there are a variety of ways in having the breath test suppressed.

With our help, we will show you the easy to understand steps needed to get Alabama DUI charges dismissed effectively and take back the control of your situation by being equipped with the effective Alabama representation you need to win your case.

Leave a Comment

Call Now
Free DUI Evaluation