What happens to you if you are arrested for a DUI in Alabama? Do you know the laws as well as your rights if you are arrested and charged? You should know that any driver over the age of 21 is considered DUI if his or her blood alcohol content (BAC)tests at .08 percent or higher. Depending upon your weight, this level is achieved with as little as two drinks.
Consequences for Refusing to Take Chemical Tests
Alabama is an implied consent state, so while you can refuse to take chemical tests, you are penalized for doing so:
- First offense – 90-day suspension
- Second offense – 1-year suspension
- Third offense – 3-year suspension
- Fourth offense – 5-year suspension
There may also be monetary fines for refusing to take the test.
Challenging BAC Levels in Court
There are very specific guidelines in place for law enforcement officers to obtain a driver’s BAC at the time of the arrest. If these guidelines are not followed, and this includes the timing of the test, a good DUI attorney in Alabama may be able to have the charges lessened or dismissed outright. All BAC levels are listed below:
- Drivers that are 21 years or older, .08 percent
- Drivers under the age of 21, .02 percent
- Commercial drivers, .04 percent
Is There Mandatory Jail Time Required for a DUI in Alabama?
While many states will require an automatic jail sentence for first time offenders, Alabama offers a bit of leniency in this area.
- First time offenders – no jail time required
- Second time offenders – can accept a five-day jail sentence or do 30 days of community service
- Third time offenders – 60 day mandatory jail sentence
- Fourth time offenders – one year mandatory jail sentence
Monetary Fines and Penalties for DUI in Alabama
Some areas of Alabama DUI law are rather lenient, but this is not one of them. While you can avoid jail time and are not required to use an ignition interlock device (IID), monetary fines are rather expensive and progress significantly for repeat offenders:
- First offense – fines ranging from $600 to $2,100
- Second offense – fines ranging from $1,100 to $5,100
- Third offense – fines ranging from $2,100 to $10,000
- Fourth offense – fines ranging from $4,100 to $10,100
Finding a DUI Attorney in Alabama
If you are arrested and in need of a DUI attorney in Alabama please submit your case details for a free evaluation. A DUI Rights professional will examine all aspects of the your DUI arrest and guide you through this unpleasant process.
Learn More: Getting Help For a DUI in Alabama