Georgia DUI Laws – DUI Penalties in Georgia
The area of Georgia DUI law that is very strict concerns license suspension times. While fines and jail sentences either are on par or lower than most states, suspensions are rather severe for repeat offenders, with an indefinite suspension after the fourth violation.
Consequences for Refusing to Take Chemical Tests
Unlike Florida, where suspensions for refusing to take a chemical test are rather lenient, Georgia suspensions for refusing to take the test are on par with DUI conviction suspensions. Being an implied consent state, these suspensions will be in place regardless of the outcome of your case.
- First offense – one year suspension
- Second offense – three year suspension
- Third offense – five year suspension
Challenging BAC Levels in Court
Georgia blood alcohol content (BAC) levels are consistent with other states:
- Drivers that are 21 years or older, .08 percent
- Drivers under the age of 21, .02 percent
- Commercial drivers, .04 percent
Is There Mandatory Jail Time Required for a DUI in Georgia?
Maximum jail sentences for a DUI in Georgia are similar to other states, but minimum sentences are fairly lenient. All mandatory sentences are posted below:
- First time offenders – 24 hours to one year in jail
- Second time offenders – three days to one year in jail
- Third time offenders – 15 days to one year in jail
- Fourth time offenders – one year to five years in jail
The washout or lookback period in Georgia is ten years.
Monetary Fines and Penalties for DUI in Georgia
Both minimum and maximum monetary fines are about average compared to the rest of the country:
- First offense – fines ranging from $300 to $1,000
- Second offense – fines ranging from $600 to $1,000
- Third offense – fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
- Fourth offense – fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
License Suspension for DUI in Georgia
While first offenders face a maximum license suspension of one year, suspension times escalate significantly from that point forward:
- First offense – up to one year
- Second offense – three year mandatory suspension
- Third offense – five year mandatory suspension
- Fourth offense – indefinite suspension
IID installation is court appointed on second offense and mandatory from that point forward.
Finding a DUI Attorney in Georgia
While not at the top end of penalties or fines, Georgia does have very strict DUI penalties and fines in place. If arrested and charged for a DUI in Georgia, it would be prudent to hire a local attorney specializing in DUI law. Where can you find an attorney? Fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation form for attorney recommendations as well as an examination of your DUI arrest in Georgia.