Louisiana is both a college and tourist Mecca, which is why its tough DUI laws are very understandable. Repeat offenders should be particularly wary, as maximum penalties are quite significant. Those not familiar with the states laws should do their due diligence before ever considering getting behind the wheel after drinking.
Consequences for Refusing to Take Chemical Tests in Louisiana
While you do have the right to refuse testing, there are penalties and fines in place for doing so (Louisiana is an implied consent state). By refusing, you will face the following penalties:
- First offense – revoked license for six months
- Second offense – revoked license for six months
- Third offense – minimum jail term of two days
BAC Levels in Louisiana
Louisiana blood alcohol content (BAC) levels are in line with most other states in the country:
- Drivers that are 21 years or older, .08 percent
- Drivers under the age of 21, .02 percent
- Commercial drivers, .04 percent
Is There Mandatory Jail Time Required for a DUI in Louisiana?
There is mandatory jail time for a DUI in Louisiana and the sentences escalate significantly for repeat offenders:
- First time offenders – minimum of two days with a maximum of six months
- Second time offenders – minimum of 30 days with a maximum of six months
- Third time offenders – minimum of 45 days with a maximum of five years
- Fourth time offenders – minimum of 75 days with a maximum of 30 years
Louisiana has a 10-year lookback period for sentencing.
Monetary Fines and Penalties for DUI in Louisiana
Fines in Louisiana are standard and about average when compared to the rest of the country:
- First offense – $1,000 fine
- Second offense – $1,000 fine
- Third offense – $2,000 fine
- Fourth offense – $5,000 fine
License Suspension for DUI in Louisiana
Louisiana suspension terms are about average for the United States:
- First offense – 90-day suspension
- Second offense – mandatory one-year suspension
- Third offense – mandatory two-year suspension
- Fourth offense – mandatory two-year suspension
An ignition interlock device (IID) may be required for first and second time offenders, and it is mandatory for both third and fourth time offenders.
Finding a DUI Attorney in Louisiana
You have a lot to lose if you are arrested and convicted of drunk driving. While you will be facing the penalties and fines listed above, your career and future employment may also be at risk. At the very least, consider consulting with an attorney to explore the best possible course of action for your case. If you are arrested and charged with a DUI in Louisiana, you can submit your case for a free evaluation and get your arrest details examined.
1 thought on “Louisiana DUI Laws – Louisiana DWI Penalties”
I got charged with an dui and never went to jail or anything was given the breathlizer test four times and it never registered I had lost control of my car because of the slick tires I had in which I pointed out to the officer.In result I flipped my car and was injured he gave me field subridy test that he claim I felled but passed because I was fully aware and compliance to take but because of my injury he used it against me anyway to charge me with..I requested medical attention was took to the hospital & the hospital nurse told me because I wasn’t restrained & because the officer wasn’t there and I could leave.My Option to choose and my Dui was mailed to me .