DUI Rights Help in New Jersey- New Jersey DUI Laws
When you are pulled over, arrested, and charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI), it is important to begin fighting these charges as soon as possible. Whether the charges are coming out of Newark, Trenton, Atlantic City, Jersey City, or anywhere else in the state of New Jersey, the consequences for being convicted of this crime will remain the same. By contacting a team member at DUIRights.com, it is possible to have your case reviewed and begin the process of fighting the charges against you.
Fines for a Drunk Driving Arrest in New Jersey
Unlike other states in the country, individuals who are arrested for DUI in the state of New Jersey will face a number of penalties just for the arrest alone – not including the penalties they will need to pay should they be found guilty of DUI. These fines include:
- $100 Surcharge Paid to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund
- $100 Vehicle Restoration Fee
- $100 for Violent Crimes Compensation
- $100 for the Intoxicated Driver Program
- $100 Municipality and State Fee
Understanding Your DUI Rights to Fight Your Charges
Under New Jersey state law, it is possible for an individual to plead guilty to a lesser charge of “wet reckless” in order to avoid having a DUI on their record and having to pay the higher penalties for the more serious crime. In order to achieve this, it is important to work with a legal professional to build a strong defense. One of the areas a DUI attorney will examine is whether or not your rights were violated during any part of the DUI arrest process. Some of the questions he or she may ask you include:
- What was the arresting officer’s reason for performing a traffic stop and detaining you for DUI?
- Did the arresting officer explain your rights to you and recite your Miranda Rights?
- Did the arresting officer witness you driving the vehicle or was the vehicle parked at the time of the traffic stop?
- Did the arresting officer administer a Breathalyzer test? In what manner was this test given? How long after your last alcoholic beverage did you receive the test?
- Were there any other witnesses to your driving behavior? Were the arresting officer’s observations consistent with other eye witnesses?
Did the arresting officer administer any field sobriety testing? How was that testing administered? Did any outside forces, such as weather, affect the results of those tests?
Protect your rights and learn how to get your New Jersey DWI charges dismissed. Get Started Now by filling out the Free Dui Arrest Evaluation Form to get the answers you need.
You still have a chance to improve your situation once you learn the steps needed to eliminate your New Jersey DWI charges. DUIRights.com is a source of information for those facing any DUI charges and gives you the inside legal information and secret tactics to getting these charges dismissed with experienced DUI counsel. New Jersey DWI penalties have become inflated calculations by the court system favored towards the courts themselves and attorneys specializing in this field. Over the past 14 years, DUIRights.com has helped thousands of people just like you. Good people with families, jobs, and friends. People who are now facing one of the worst days of their lives after being charged with DUI. We sincerely believe that people who make a mistake shouldn’t have to pay for it the rest of their lives.
No matter how guilty you may think you were at the time of the arrest, we want you to know one important thing: There is ALWAYS an aggressive and effective defense that will help you fight for the best possible outcome. In our experience, many officers do not follow proper field sobriety test procedures. In fact, challenging probable cause and the way field sobriety tests, blood tests and breath tests were administered is often a successful strategy to reduce or drop the charges. Also, many people plead guilty prematurely based on a breath test with a result above the legal limit. This is a common and costly mistake, as there are a variety of ways in having the breath test suppressed as we will show you how to do.
If you rely solely on a public defender to help you, your chances will be limited in preserving financial security and effectively winning your case. We will help you protect yourself against an unfair court system and not risk losing your license or financial security. With our help, we will show you the easy to understand steps needed to get your New Jersey DWI charges dismissed effectively and take back the control of your situation by being equipped with the real information and attorney you need to win your case. At DUIRights.com, you will see that it’s never too late or difficult to drastically lower or eliminate your DUI arrest charges, if that’s your desire.
Finding a DUI Attorney in New Jersey
When charged with a DUI in New Jersey, first time offenders are looking at as many as 30 days in jail with up to a one-year suspension. Third time offenders can spend up to six months in jail and have their license suspended for as long as ten years. Anyone hoping to fight these charges successfully will need a top DUI lawyer in New Jersey.
Why Hire a New Jersey DUI Attorney
New Jersey is an “implied consent” state. This means that if you refuse to take chemical tests, you are in essence conceding guilt to the courts. In New Jersey, first time offenders receive a 7-month revocation, second time offenders receive a 2-year revocation, and third time offenders receive a 10-year revocation of their license. With such stiff penalties, many individuals will take the tests regardless of their guilt and leave their fate to an attorney.
Picking the right lawyer often means the difference in getting lesser fines, getting off completely, or maxing out in jail time, suspensions, and fines. Those with limited budgets may decide to use a court appointed attorney, which is usually a mistake. These attorneys are often overwhelmed and the case simply does not get the attention needed to win the decision.
Yes, private DUI attorneys in New Jersey will cost more, but the money saved in fines as well as driving restrictions can often offset these fees. For instance, if you drive for a living and cannot afford to lose your license, the attorney fee is much less than losing your job. Instead of being one person in a stack of clients, you will get the full attention of a skilled “specialty” attorney, often leading to a more favorable outcome.
How to Find a New Jersey DUI Attorney
Before settling on a public defender, visit DUIRights.com to see all of your options. On this site, you are able to enter your case details and our team of experts will provide you with a free DUI case evaluation. You will also find information specifically for New Jersey DUI law. After your case is reviewed, you will be able to discuss case specifics with one of our recommend NJ DUI attorneys to see if he or she will give you a better chance at winning your case instead of using the court appointed attorney.
For most people, the realization that a private attorney is better happens rather quickly. For those facing financial hardship, many of these attorney are willing to work out some type of payment plan or financing to secure their representation. And, depending upon the facts of the case, you may be pleasantly surprised that the cost of quality legal representation is not quite expensive as you would think.
4 thoughts on “DUI Rights in New Jersey – How to Protect your New Jersey DUI Arrest Rights”
I don’t have to go through court at all like I said I had did everything I have to do put motor vehicle is give me the run around
I’ had pay everything I had been to a rehab 3 time I’m pay on my surcharge $87.00 a month I had pay$100.00 for my license I do not have money to keep pay for rehab class I just want my license back
Hi Clarence, you will have to look over your court order agreement to see specifically what you need to do to get your license back.
I WOULD LIKE INFORMATION ABOUT MY CASE. I WAS INVOLVED IN A FENDER BENDER LAST NIGHT AND NOTICED THAT THE CAR THAT I BUMPED IN FRONT OF ME HAD BARELY ANY DAMAGE AND THAT THE DRIVER, AN OLDER GENTLEMAN SEEMED A BIT DRUNK AS HE WAS STAGGERING AROUND HIS CAR. I PERSONALLY CALLED THE TOWN POLICE OF CRANFORD AND AFTER HAVING COME OUT, THEY TOLD ME BEING THIS HAPPENED ON AN OFF RAMP OFF THE PARKWAY, IT WOULD HAVE TO BE STATE POLICE. THEY FINALLY CAME, DID NOT SAY A WORD TO ME, SPOKE WITH THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME AND THEY TOOK OFF. GAVE ME A FIELD SOBRIETY TEST WHICH I PASSED AND THREW ME IN THE BACK OF THEIR CAR, CUFFED. NO ONE SAW ME DRIVING. THE CAR WAS OBVIOUSLY STOPPED. WENT GOD KNOWS WHERE TO THEIR STATION AND AFTER ABOUT 3-4 HOURS LATER WAS GIVEN A BREATHALIZER TEST WHICH IM ASSUMING ACCUSED ME AS I HAVE A CDL LICENSE. I WAS COMPLETELY COHERENT AND OBLIGING AND BELIEVE I DID NOTHING WRONG AS IT WAS ME WHO CALLED THE POLICE! DO I HAVE SOME SORT OF CASE TO LESSEN OR DISMISS THIS?