What happens to you if you are arrested for a DUI in Arizona? What monetary fines are you required to pay? Can you refuse a chemical test? If you do, what types of fines and penalties are you subject to? Will you have to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed? These answers and more are below.
Consequences for Refusing to Take Chemical Tests
Arizona is an implied consent state, so there are penalties in place for refusing to take chemical tests if you are arrested for a DUI:
- First offense – one-year license suspension
- Second offense – two-year license suspension
- Third offense – two-year license suspension
Challenging BAC Levels in Court
Blood alcohol content (BAC) is one of the determining factors in deciding if you are DUI or not after an arrest. If you do take the test, you should know there are specific procedures in place to ensure the results are accurate. Challenging these results is one strategy your attorney may use to fight your charges in court. All BAC levels are listed below:
- Drivers that are 21 years or older, .08 percent
- Drivers under the age of 21, .00 percent, zero tolerance state
- Commercial drivers, .04 percent
Is There Mandatory Jail Time Required for a DUI in Arizona?
If you are arrested in Arizona, you will go to jail for any DUI arrest and conviction.
- First time offenders – minimum of 24 hours and a maximum of 10 days in jail
- Second time offenders – minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 90 in jail
- Third time offenders – minimum of four months in jail
Monetary Fines and Penalties for DUI in Arizona
Arizona monetary fines for DUI are among the lowest in the country:
- First offense – $250 fine
- Second offense – $500 fine
- Third offense – $750 fine
License Suspension for DUI in Arizona
There is a mandatory suspension for all DUI convictions in Arizona:
- First offense – minimum of 90 days with a maximum of 360 days license suspension
- Second offense – one-year suspension
- Third offense – one-year suspension
There is also a mandatory IID installation required for all violators.
Finding a DUI Attorney in Arizona
If you are arrested and in need of a DUI attorney in Arizona, then please fill out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation Form. This website provides a free Arizona DUI case evaluation as well as more DUI laws and information on local DUI attorneys.
4 thoughts on “Arizona DUI Laws”
I was stopped off my street talking to my friend and listening to music and a sheriff said that someone called to complain about loud music and then asked if I were drinking and I had 2 drinks at Applebee’s earlier and then charged me with a dui and took my driver’s license and then I left my car on the street and walk to my house.
Kimberly is this your first DUI and what sobriety tests did you take? Arizona has very tough DUI laws and you need to contact an Arizona DUI attorney right away to possibly get a restricted driving permit. We have plenty of Arizona DUI lawyers in our network so fill out the free DUI evaluation form to get started.
I was parked on shoulder of the freeway 3 hours from Albuquerque NM on my 1st trip to live in San Diego California. I had swerved while driving and thought I had a blow out or something and pulled over. It was cold an I climbed in the backseat with my 2 emotional support cats and fell asleep. I don’t know how long I was sleeping but I was woken up by a police officer banging his flashlight repeatedly on my front driver side window. It took a while to climb to the front seat to open the door. I was wearing lace stockings, black high heel shoes and a black velvet dress . All I know is I was mistreated, arrested, Under DURESS) It cost $500 to get my car from impound 40+ miles from the jail and both my cats where taken to a shelter 30 miles in the opposite direction. They both contracted upper respiratory infections. That resulted in taking them both to an emergency vet and had to buy antibiitics and my 18 year old boy cat didn’t make it and on Christmas Eve on my way back to Albuquerque I had to put him DIWN!!!! This tramatic experience ONLY GETS WORSE…I can tell you over the phone if you think you can HELP. IM a senior, permanently disabled widow mother artist and don’t have transportation (3years) the arrest was in November 2018! I just RECEIVED LAST WEEK FROM AZ CONSTABLE A BLUE PAPER THAT STATES ” I NOW HAVE AN ACTIVE ARREST WARRANT AND THEY ARE LOOKING FOR “ME” OMG!!! Please Help … God Bless and have a great day.
Ps I DON’T DRINK AND I WASN’T DRIVING OR PULLED OVER BY THE OFFICER THAT ARRESTED NE AND KILLED ONE OF MY “BABIES”
Hi March, what did they charge you with when you were parked on the side of the road? Was this Arizona state police? Here is some info on police misconduct that may help: https://plattner-verderame.com/practice-areas/police-brutality/