What You Need to Know About California DUI
After being arrested for DUI in California you will be facing some life altering penalties, such as license suspension, fines, and jail time. Making the first steps toward fighting these charges is important – at DUIRights.com, we specialize in helping individuals fight their DUI charges by taking a close look at each individual case to see what defense can be used to have their charges reduced to something less serious or to have the case dismissed from court.
Individuals who were pulled over and arrested in Los Angeles, San Francisco, San Diego, or anywhere in California can contact DUIRights.com to starting fighting the charges pending against them. The reality is that almost every DUI arrest has violated the individual’s rights in some way and our DUI Advocates can help to find those violations and see if they can be used to build a strong defense case for our clients. By having your case reviewed before trial, it is possible to secure a better outcome than going it alone.
License Suspension in California
For those who will be greatly affected by a license suspension, it is important to go to court and fight to have the suspension rescinded as soon as possible in the state of California. Being arrested, having your license suspended and being charged with DUI or DWI does not automatically mean that you will be found guilty of these charges. The professional team at DUIRights.com can help to review, explain, and build a viable defense for your case and walk you through the legal process from beginning to end.
Determining if Your DUI Rights were Violated in California
In order to know if your DUI rights were violated, it is important to understand what your rights are. Once you have identified your rights, and determined which ones were violated, it is possible for you and your DUI Advocate to build a much stronger case. The prosecutor trying the case will need to prove the following: that you were operating the vehicle and that you were under the influence of a substance, either alcohol or drugs. Here is what you should ask yourself about your rights:
- Did the arresting officer observe you behind the wheel of the vehicle? Was the vehicle mobile when the arresting officer mad the traffic stop?
- Did the arresting officer have reason to perform a traffic stop?
- Was proper field sobriety testing administered?
- Did the weather conditions or other factors affect the results of your sobriety testing?
- How long after your last alcoholic beverage did the arresting officer administer a Breathalyzer test?
- Did the arresting officer have the same observations of your driving behavior or general sobriety as other witnesses may have had?
The answers to the questions above will help you to determine whether or not your rights were violated during your DUI arrest and will also help you and your DUI advocate build a proper case that will hopefully get your DUI or DWI charges reduced or thrown out of court completely.
Protect your rights and learn how to get your California DUI charges dismissed. Get Started Now by filling out the Free DUI Arrest Evaluation form to have your arrest details examined.
Penalties for a First-Time DUI in California
The penalties for a first-time DUI charge vary from one state to the next, but the state of California assigns the following punishments for being convicted of this crime:
- Between four days and six months in jail
- 30 day to 10 month driver’s license suspension
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement to restore driving privileges in some counties
- Monetary fines up to $1,000
In addition to the outlined monetary fines, DUI offenders are also responsible for the costs associated with using an Ignition Interlock Device. If the offender’s crime is committed in a county that requires the use of an IID for him or her to get driving privileges back, the offender is responsible for paying the cost of having the device installed as well as any maintenance and calibration fees.
Read More: California DUI Laws and Penalties
Other Costs of First-Time DUI
Another cost of DUI that offenders may not consider is the effect a conviction can have on their car insurance. When drivers are convicted of DUI, they become a “high risk” in the eyes of car insurance companies, meaning that there is a higher risk of the driver making a claim against his or her policy. Since the risk of having to pay out for a claim is higher for the insurance company, the company often raises the driver’s rate to cover that risk. In California, insurance rates can increase by over $400 annually.